Why Does Gluten Free Alcohol Matter?

Uncategorized

Written by:

If you are a person with gluten intolerance, you will need to avoid any foods or beverages that contain gluten. To a large extent, this seems like common sense. Also, it is common sense for many people and not so much for others.

On the most essential level, it is important to know the grains that contain this invasive and irritating protein. Since it will cause severe digestive and other symptoms in sensitive individuals, diet is important to eradicating those symptoms.

People who have this intolerance first and foremost have to be careful with diet. The grains that do contain gluten include wheat, barley, rye, spelt, and probably some others we don’t usually know about. These are the most common culprits you will find on the grocery market shelves or even in open markets. You should educate yourself about all the potential foods that might or do have gluten in them.

What are the consequences if you do not do this? Very simply, you will end up getting sick from eating gluten. That is all there is to it. Gluten intolerance will eventually lead to severe digestive problems including celiac sprue, which is a serious auto-immune disease caused specifically by gluten. In these cases, ceasing all gluten in the diet is the only way to cure the problem and lead a normal, healthy life.

This also means cutting out certain alcoholic beverages such as beer. There is such a thing as gluten free alcohol and you can avoid drinking the wrong kinds of beverages versus the right kind when you have gluten intolerance. Basically, all of the brown liquors contain gluten. At the top of the list, you will see whiskey, bourbon, and rye liquors of all kinds. There are others, but they are less commonly made with wheat.

Keep in mind that more than one grain contains gluten. It is not just the beverages made with wheat that do. Beer is the biggest culprit of all and you will need to find beers that are labeled as free of gluten in order to avoid this gluten problem. While this seems obvious, you may not be able to give up your favorite beer as easily as you would think. Cutting out gluten may not be easy, but you can do it.

Comments are closed.